Window Azure BizTalk Services: How to Get Started and When to Use It

Richard Seroter's Architecture Musings

The “integration as a service” space continues to heat up, and Microsoft officially entered the market with the General Availability of Windows Azure BizTalk Services (WABS) a few weeks ago.  I recently wrote up an InfoQ article that summarized the product and what it offered. I also figured that I should actually walk through the new installation and deployment process to see what’s changed. Finally, I’ll do a brief assessment of where I’d consider using this vs. the other cloud-based integration tools.

Installation

Why am I installing something if this is a cloud service? Well, the development of integration apps still occurs on premises, so I need an SDK for the necessary bits. Grab the Windows Azure BizTalk Services SDK Setup and kick off the process. I noticed what seems to be a much cleaner installation wizard.

2013.12.10biztalkservices01

After choosing the components that I wanted to install (including the runtime, developer…

View original post 1,064 more words

About Ed Jones

Ed is a .NET and Integration architect for Avanade in the Twin Cities. Contact Ed

What do you think?

