BizTalk Enterprise VM in Azure Gotcha: No Free Compute Hours

UPDATE: (2013-May-5) Since I first published this, Microsoft has released a “trial edition” VM that you may use on Azure that uses only your regular compute hour allotment.  We’re happy again!

I’m sorry I promoted this yesterday without understanding the billing model.  Using BizTalk Enterprise VM in Azure with your MSDN subscription does not use just the normal compute hours that comes with the subscription.   Using BizTalk within an Azure VM has a separate compute time charge and as of yet, there are no free hours with it.  My own Azure account was disabled because of the $0.00 limit for charges I have on my account.

I’ll keep you posted should this change.  I apologize for any heart-ache this may have caused!

About Ed Jones

Ed is a .NET and Integration architect for Avanade in the Twin Cities. Contact Ed

What do you think?

