Could not contact the SSO server

I started getting my hands dirty with BizTalk development after a few months of working as an architect (in the drawing pictures and writing documentation sense).  It’s good to be back!  Unfortunately, it also means that I get the fun of setting up my BizTalk configurations again.

While trying to load some settings into SSO through the Deployment Framework (http://biztalkdeployment.codeplex.com), I got this beauty of an exception:

Could not contact the SSO server ‘(local)’. Check that SSO is configured and that the SSO service is running on that server.
 (RPC: 0x800706BA: The RPC server is unavailable.)

The same error also showed up when I tried to run the SSO Admin utility as well.  My first reaction was to check my BizTalk configuration to make sure that everything looked good.  I saw the pretty “Green Check” next to SSO in the configuration list, so I guessed (correctly) that it had nothing to do with my BizTalk configuration.

But the fact that I was using the server ‘local’, did make me wonder.  I know this works ok with SQL Server, but using the shortcut (local) to refer to a database server is problematic with SSO.   To set things straight, I just had to run the SSOManage command-line utility and set the server to the local machine name instead of using the term “(local)” and that fixed the problem.

So, here’s the command-line fix:

C:\Program Files\Common Files\Enterprise Single Sign-On>ssomanage -server <machineName>

or


C:\Program Files\Common Files\Enterprise Single Sign-On>ssomanage -serverall <machineName>

You can then run the same utility with the -showserver command-line parameter to make sure that it took. Below is an image of the results on my machine.

SSOCommand

About Ed Jones

Ed is a .NET and Integration architect for Avanade in the Twin Cities. Contact Ed

One response to “Could not contact the SSO server”

  1. gluuservers10 says :

    This Error may be due to SSO Server doesn’t matches with your machine name and due to change of SSO name to IP address of that machine so make changes to these.

    federated sso

What do you think?

